UPDATE: Schools, Colleges Closed Today Due to Smoke from Butte County's 'Camp Fire'

Due to the heavy smoke continuing today from the 20,000 acre ‘Camp Fire’ in Butte County, certain schools across Sonoma County will be closed today. This from Steve Herrington, superintendent of schools for Sonoma County, and Diane Kitamura of the Santa Rosa City School District.

The closure list includes the following schools:

As of 7:45am, all school districts in Sonoma County are closed either due to air quality concerns or for pre-scheduled staff development days. Dunham and Liberty school districts in Petaluma are closed for staff development. Following is the updated list of all school districts and other K-12 programs that are closed Friday, Nov. 9.

School Districts

Alexander Valley Union, Healdsburg
Bennett Valley Union, Santa Rosa
Bellevue Union School District
Cinnabar, Petaluma
Cotati-Rohnert Park Unified School District
Cloverdale Unified, Cloverdale
Forestville Union, Forestville
Fort Ross Elementary, Cazadero
Geyserville Unified, Geyserville
Guerneville School District, Guerneville
Gravenstein, Sebastopol
Harmony Union, Occidental
Healsdsburg Unified, Healdsburg
Kashia, Stewarts Point
Kenwood School District, Kenwood
Mark West Union, Santa Rosa/Larkfield
Monte Rio Union, Monte Rio
Montgomery, Cazadero
Oak Grove Union, Santa Rosa
Old Adobe Union, Petaluma
Petaluma City Schools, Petaluma
Piner-Olivet Union School District, Santa Rosa
Rincon Valley Union, Santa Rosa
Roseland School District, Roseland
Santa Rosa City Schools, Santa Rosa
Sebastopol Union, Sebastopol
Sebastopol Independent Charter, Sebastopol
Sonoma Valley Unified, Sonoma
Summerfield-Waldorf School and Farm
Twin Hills Union, Sebastopol
Two Rock Union, Petaluma
Waugh, Petaluma
West Sonoma County Union High School District, Sebastopol/Forestville
Wilmar Union, Petaluma
Wright School District, Santa Rosa
Windsor Unified, Windsor

— Independent Charters/Other Programs

Kid Street Charter, Santa Rosa
Sebastopol Independent Charter, Sebastopol
Credo Charter, Rohnert Park
SCOE special education classes held within the school districts that are closed
SCOE Transition Program classes for 18-22 year olds
Amarosa Academy (SCOE)
Headwaters Academy (SCOE)
North Coast School of Education Classes at SCOE
SCOE offices closed except for essential functions

— SCOE will be closed except for key operational staff

Check back for the latest updates.